One Year And Counting

It’s been a year and three days since I’ve started this blog.

To commemorate this incredible achievement (because I was able to start something without quitting), I will- you guessed it!-post some quotes from the most recent book I finished- Thanks for the Memories by Cecilia Ahern.

Screen Shot 2014-07-16 at 1.17.51 PM

If you’re looking for a quick and easy read about a rather unconventional love story that covers family and loss, this is your book. Upon reading the first couple chapters, I thought I would get bored as it was pretty predictable, but as the pages grew thicker in my left hand and thinner in my right, I had no idea I was going through the book so quickly. Before I knew it, I’ve learned more about love and loss in a couple sittings. It’s okay to be lost, it really is. Sometimes it takes getting lost to be able to find your way back again. Since I’ve also just graduated, these quotes are a great reminder that it’s totally okay to be unemployed! So here are some of my favorite quotes from the book:

“We all get lost once in a while, sometimes by choice, sometimes due to forces beyond our control. When we learn what it is our soul needs to learn, the path presents itself. Sometimes we see the way out but wander further and deeper despite ourselves; the fear, the anger or the sadness preventing us returning. Sometimes we prefer to be lost and wandering, sometimes it’s easier. Sometimes we find our own way out. But regardless, always, we are found.”

“It’s like my garden, love. Everything grows. Including love. And with that growing everyday how can you expect missing her to ever fade away? Everything builds, including our ability to cope with it. That’s how we keep going.”

“In my day, something just was. None of this analysis a hundred times over. None of these college courses with people graduating with degrees in Whys and Hows and Becauses. Sometimes, you just need to forget all of those words and enroll in a little lesson called “Thank You”.”

“It occurs to me how close happiness and sadness are. So closely knitted together. Such a thin line, a thread-like divide that in the midst of emotions, it trembles, blurring the territory of exact opposites. The movement is minute, like a thin thread of a spider’s web that quivers under a raindrop. Here in the moment of unstoppable cheek-and stomach-rolling laughter, as my body rolls around, my stomach clenched, all the muscles taut, my body jumps about , is racked by emotion and therefore steps ever so slightly over the mark, and into sadness. Tears of sadness gush down my cheeks as my stomach continues to shake and ache with happiness.

“..How quickly a moment of love was snapped away to a moment of hate … Of how love and war stand upon the very same foundations. How, in my darkest moments, my most fearful times, when faced, became my bravest. When feeling at your weakest you end up showing more strength, when at your lowest are suddenly lifted above higher than you’ve ever been. They all border one another, the opposites, and how we can be altered. Despair can be altered by one simple smile offered by a stranger; confidence can become fear by the arrival of one uneasy presence. … Everything is on the verge, always brimming the surface, a slight shake, a tremble sends things toppling. How similar emotions are.”

“Those words floated in the air, like the scent of freshly cut grass on a summer’s day; more than a smell, they carried with them a feeling, a place, a time of year, a happiness, a celebration of change, of moving on. They transport him just as the hearing of a special song familiar from youth does, when nostalgia, like the tide, sweeps in and catches you on the sand, pulling you in and under when you least expect it, often when you least want it.”

“So this is what you do when it all slows down and the minutes that tick by feel a little longer than before. You take your time. You breathe slowly. You open your eyes a little wider and look at everything. Take it all in. Rehash stories of old, remember people, times, and occasions gone by. Allow everything you see to remind you of something. Talk about those things. Find out the answers you didn’t know to yesterday’s crosswords. Slow down. Stop trying to do everything now, now, now. Hold up the people behind you for all you care, feel them kicking at your heels but maintain your pace. Don’t let anybody else dictate your speed.”

What'd you think?

