A glance into the Montreux Christmas market (pics!)

I love living spontaneously. So when my friend texted me at 2pm asking if I wanted to go to the Montreux Christmas market, I said ‘yes’ with no hesitation; at 4:30pm, she set the meet-up time to be 6pm. Usually I’d freak out if the time to meet isn’t set at least 4 hours before, but not this time. I just went with the flow. My friends were coming from St. Gallen with the Golden Pass while I had to ride a jam-packed train for 20 minutes to reach the destination.

Once we met up, we googled the place of the Christmas market and headed towards it. The last time I was in Montreux was in October 2010, a month after I first arrived in Lausanne. The Christmas market was right by the lake, and even though it was dark, the place felt very familiar. So I went back to dig through my pictures and this was what I found.

Taken in October 2010, a dock for people to bask in the warm sunlight before the harsh winter hit.
Taken in October 2010, a dock for people to bask in the warm sunlight before the harsh winter hits.

Three years later, I come back to the exact same spot but with a completely different atmosphere. Couples, children and families were fascinated by the ‘tree’ in the middle of the dock, engulfing themselves in the glowing branches and snapping happily away.

Taken in December, 2013.
Taken in December, 2013.

The Montreux Christmas market is one of the smaller ones in Switzerland. Nevertheless, their stalls are full of colorful artifacts, ranging from distinctive jewelry, to home-made baby clothes and jam, to lots of foie gras, and food stalls. Here are some pictures to give you an idea (all pictures taken by me on my Canon):

Another sunset picture in Lausanne before going to Montreux
Another sunset picture in Lausanne before going to Montreux
First thing we see- can you figure out how this works?
First thing we see- can you figure out how this works?
Rows and rows of nougats, chocolates and candy.
Rows and rows of nougats, chocolates and candy.
Beautiful glass pieces that I think they can make on the spot
Beautiful glass pieces that I think they can custom-make on the spot
IMG_5158
They make wine glasses too
IMG_5160
Close up of the glass balls
Simple, yet stunning hand-made wood pieces
Simple, yet stunning hand-made wood pieces
Super cute wine-bottle holders.
Super cute wine-bottle holders.
A vintage toy stall
A vintage toy stall
Close-up of the cars
Close-up of the cars
Candle-holders (if I'm not wrong)
Candle-holders (if I’m not wrong)
The inside ceiling of a beautiful Mongolian tent
The inside ceiling of a beautiful Mongolian tent
View from above- this is the end section of the market
View from above- this is the end section of the market
Indoor is mostly food!
It is mostly food inside!

Speaking of food…

Dinner! Rösti, onion soup, potatoes and chicken and sausage.
Dinner! Rösti, onion soup, potatoes and chicken and sausage. (We also had a nutella crepe for dessert).
A big pan of sauerkraut, potatoes and schinken.
A big pan of sauerkraut, potatoes and schinken.

European Christmas markets are famous for their vin chaud or hot wine. I had a cup of spiced-up hot wine during our ferris wheel ride and it warmed me up immediately.

Ferris wheel from the front
Ferris wheel from the front
A different angle
A different angle
On the ferris wheel
On the ferris wheel
A tree with cute electric flowers
A tree with cute electric flowers
Thanks for a great evening, girls!
Thanks for a great evening, girls!

And to end how I started:

The landscape by the lake in October 2010
The landscape by the lake in October 2010
At night in December 2013
At night in December 2013

This will be my last post in Switzerland for 2013.I have come up with a very fun program for my two-week Christmas break. Tomorrow, I head off to Vienna, Austria. I will be staying with family friends for three days. Then I head off to Prague to meet up with a couple of friends for a night. The next day, we head to Berlin together for Christmas eve and Christmas day. On the 26, I will head straight to Chur to work as an extra at a hotel-restaurant (to earn all the money I spent, back haha).

The train will be my best friend during these few days. I will be spending 10 hours on the train to Vienna, 5 hours to Prague, 5 hours to Berlin (with company), and another 10+ hours to Chur. I’ll be bringing my other best friend, Kindle, along, and hope to finish a few books along the way. I’ll also be bringing my last best friend (God I’m so popular…) along, Canon EOS650D, and take a ton of awesome pictures for the blog.

If I don’t get to say it during the day, I wish the online community a Merry Christmas and a very Happy New Year!

P.S. You can check out my instagram (@slapthesunshine) for pictures of my trip (though most of it will be on this blog once I do get to writing it!).

5 thoughts on “A glance into the Montreux Christmas market (pics!)

What'd you think?

