Gratitude

I don’t celebrate thanksgiving, ever. So when today was approaching, I did not think much of it.

But in light of (very) recent events, I would like to take some time to say what I am thankful for:

1. This video: Existential Bummer
“Everything dissolves in meaninglessness when you think about the fact that impermanence is a real thing.”

This is an amazing video. Takes the word right out of my mouth.

Screen Shot 2013-11-28 at 11.54.34 PM

2. My friends in Switzerland. I’ve never said this before (until today), but I am beyond thankful for the people I have met here. We’ve always been there for each other for the past three years. From studying together (not really), to screw studying and playing Catan/Mario Kart/Game of Thrones during exam time, to skipping classes, to stuffing our faces, to drinking wine and beer and infused liquor, to the tears, to the sexual innuendos, to the elegant dinners, to dissing the school, to grocery shopping, to snowball fights, to getting drunk, to exercising, to doing laundry, to stealing wine glasses, to pouring wine back into the bottle, to watching YouTube videos, to traveling, to faking French accents, faking Chinese accents, faking Singlish, to attending amazing concerts, to road trips, to fondue, to watching new movies, to meeting up outside of Switzerland. So many good memories that will always stay close to my heart.

photo (2)
How the Asians celebrated Thanksgiving the Swiss way! Even though it was actually just a normal dinner, but I’m so thankful for you guys (and the amazing kirsch-filled fondue and fluffy cupcakes and fudgy brownies!)

3. I am thankful for the internet in every single way. Need I say more?

4. Being able to live a conscious life. I’ve talked about this so many times in my past blogs, but I am really grateful for what I’ve been through this summer. Some people are able to live in the moment without realizing it, and those are the lucky ones. Or are they? I think it is truly a gift to be able to know, feel, and appreciate everything around you. From the trees, to the falling rain, to the sound of the birds in the morning, to the sunsets. For example, when I went to Vietnam in the beginning of November, I remember there was one moment when I was in the car and I had no idea where I was. I found myself asking: where am I? Seychelles? Shanghai? It was such an out-of-body experience, but all I remember telling myself was that it doesn’t matter where I am. All that matters is that I am in the company of these three amazing people who have been there for me and are making this trip wonderful. I was healing. To think about how lost I was before I went through my life coaching is scary. How could I have gone through 21 years without really living? How could I have missed out on life? Sure there are those moments that I remember when I was surrounded by great people who made my day/night, but it’s different. There’s that one element missing; there was still something pulling me back. But now, I feel like a weight has been literally lifted off my shoulders. There is a spring in every step I take, a genuine-ness in every laughter, a reason for every tear.

Screen Shot 2013-11-28 at 11.46.33 PM

5. I am thankful for the online community. Never would I have thought I would gain so much support from you guys. More importantly, starting this blog has also somewhat made me reconnect with a few old friends. I hope I have been able to reach out to all of you in some way.

6. For all the people I met this year. From the people that I worked with during Christmas/New Years to my colleagues at Raffles Seychelles, to the strangers I chatted up (with very sweaty palms), to the people who changed my life in July, to you. Every single one of you have had an impact on my life.

7. Having practiced gratitude this summer for a month. I hope to keep doing this- I hope everyone can keep practicing gratitude, not only on Thanksgiving day but every day. Sit around at a table during lunch with your friends and tell everybody one thing you’re grateful for. It’s a great way to appreciate the little things in life and also a great excuse to tell your friends you’re grateful for them (because we know how awkward those conversations can be).

Screen Shot 2013-11-28 at 11.40.04 PM

8. Last but not least, I am thankful for my family. All of them.

6 thoughts on “Gratitude

  1. Love this, and so thankful I found your blog! You are definitely living mindfully… I love what you said about the out of body experience in Vietnam where you were like “wait a sec where am I?” It gave me a pang of nostalgia, remembering such moments.

      1. I thought about it last night actually… It’s happened to me a couple times when I am driving on an interstate and I’ll be sort of spaced out and then I’ll snap out of it and for a moment I won’t recall which interstate I’m on or even which direction I am driving There should definitely be a word for this!

What'd you think?

