30 Day Challenge: Day 22- The end

I actually wanted to talk about death today but thought that a title with ‘Death’ would’ve been too glum.

The reason I chose this topic is because I watched the most recent Glee episode that was dedicated to Cory Monteith who passed away in August. After the episode, I went to bed with a heavy heart.

I haven’t cried in a long time (hah ironic eh) but last night’s episode really hit me. It is interesting and unfortunate that death brings out the best and the worst in people. The worst because they could act out and do unthinkable things, or feel emotions that they didn’t even know existed, but the best because they live life with more fervor than before.

20131017-150124.jpg

Glee was a perfect example of this *spoilers ahead!* It brought out the worst in Santana, when she ‘assaulted’ Sue; Puck stole the tree used to commemorate Finn; Mr. Schuester stole Finn’s jacket. All of these characters dealt with Finn’s death in their own way. What’s hardest and most unimaginable is that he really is gone. He isn’t just gone from Glee, he is gone forever. But I think it also brought out the best in all the actors. This was probably the most genuine they have ever been when acting. I could see it in Mercedes’ face when she was singing ‘I’ll stand by you’, Puck’s face when he cried in coach Beiste’s arms, Mr. Schuester’s sobs when he held Finn’s jacket and wailed, and Rachel’s expression when she talked about her future plans with Finn, but really it was of her future plans with Cory.

It sucks that it had to take a death for ‘the best’ to come out of people. I understand though. Before I found it quizzical, but now I understand. I don’t know how to explain it, but I can see how death brings out the best in people. People take more risks, live more freely, and never give up. Of course there are those days where the entire world comes crashing down on your shoulder, but people just get up and continue to live life, with a hole in their life.

Luckily I’ve never had to experience a close death, but I know it’s inevitable. So I could be completely wrong about these emotions and feelings.

20131017-150539.jpg

On a brighter (not really) note, my laptop died. I was transferring music to a colleague’s hard drive and my laptop froze. I forced shut-down my laptop, and when I turned it back on, it started making this scratchy noise. This isn’t the first time I heard it, as it always comes up when I try to download movies from transmission or BitTorrent. So I’ve forced shut-down quite a lot of times now. But I think today, transferring the music, was the last straw for my laptop. So now it’s dead. I’ve given it to the IT manager at the resort and he says he’ll try and fix it over the weekend, or at least try to get my stuff from my hard drive, because the noise does mean that my hard drive is toast. So all posts will be from my phone from now on.

Also time for a new MacBook! What do you guys think? I was thinking about a MacBook Air.

What'd you think?

