30 Day Challenge: Day 9- What is the one thing you wish you were great at?

I’ve almost go no energy left that I will need to take a half day tomorrow. I will come to work at 8am, but leave at 12:45pm so that I can go home and rest. On the bright side, I got issued my tickets back to Shanghai with Emirates! Finally, I get issued a ticket 3-weeks in advance instead of 2 days! This is the one thing that is keeping me going right now.

Today’s topic: What is the one thing that I wish I were great at?

Ooof this is a hard one. Really, because I wish I could be great at so many things. But many of these things like not being shy around people I first meet, being able to open up and relate to people easily, getting good grades etc. are all do-able, if I try harder. Which is what I will do. I’m a new person and I will try my best to do my best from now on.

But I think one thing that I wish I could be great at, above all, is absorbing information. This means keeping the things I learn in school in my head. I took IB History HL in high school, and although I scored the highest on that for the final exams, I basically forgot everything I learnt. I think it’s probably because I memorized information instead of actually understanding the information. I’m not sure if it’s my memory or if it’s because I don’t try hard enough. I think it’s the latter. I often myself uninterested in any current events or political issues simply because I just don’t care. But that is such a naive way of thinking, don’t you think? I really do try nowadays to be more interested by watching CNN when I wake up or reading the news during work (ok that doesn’t happen as much because I like to blog more :P).

But see, if I could absorb information, my life would be so much easier. I would not feel lost when I’m around friends who are discussing real-world issues, or why something happened for a reason and give my opinion on it. Honestly I feel like an idiot around my friends. Whenever they are discussing some issues, I just sit there looking like I understand, but I really don’t. And it’s a shitty feeling because it just makes ones self confidence go down even more.

My life would also be easier in the sense of school work- I will be able to link things together much easier between my classes and offer intellectual discussions to my friends when we are doing big projects. This would also be a great asset when I am applying to my first job and actually working at my first job. But maybe this all comes with practice. I think the fact that I am conscious about this and know that I need to do something about it will put my mindset in the right place when I go back to school.

Maybe this sounds really stupid, but it’s something I’ve always wished I could do properly. I’m sure.. or I hope that I can start practicing it now that I know I need to do this.

What about you guys? What is the one thing you wish you were great at?

Thanks for reading.

What'd you think?

