30 Day Challenge: Day 8- Where do you see yourself in 1 year? 5 years? 10 years?

Damn. I swear it gets harder and harder every day that I go by without an off. It’s been 11 days since I’ve had an off day, and it’s starting to take a toll on me. I had a German wedding today and it was quite stressful because the weather was horrible- it was raining and stopping and raining and stopping, and the couple’s dream was to do in on the beach. In the end, we had to do it in the yoga pavilion.

photo (17)

It was successful, but now (one hour after the wedding), I feel like I have completely crashed from the high of it and I’m so exhausted. There is a cocktail reception for all the Chinese in-house guests today (there are sooo many because of October 1), and I will get home at 8pm. I’m not complaining about the workload, though! I love being busy. I just need an off day!

Anyway, on to today’s post.

Where do I see myself in 1 year?

Ideally, in 1 year, I will be sitting at a desk or meeting with clients over dinner discussing about an opportunity to take on our company as a partner (or something like that). I do not want to be working in a hotel even though I am studying hospitality management, or if I do, it will definitely be in the Sales and Marketing department or the corporate office. I have no idea which city I will be in, but I would definitely not mind if it were in London, Berlin, Munich, Madrid, Shanghai or Singapore. I will absolutely apply to all of these places and not limit myself to hotels, but all different kinds of companies. Hopefully I will have an awesome place somewhere in the city (if I am not in Singapore or Shanghai) and have a great view of the sunset (or sunrise) with awesome room mates.

Where do I see myself in 5 years?

In 5 years, I will have moved to another city with, knowing what I actually want to do with my life. My job will prove to be more challenging than ever and I hope to be leading a small team of interns or colleagues; I will have a higher title and a bigger salary. It is so hard to specify what I want to be doing as I have no idea, but it will definitely not be in a hotel. Hopefully I will be in a steady relationship and thinking about marriage (because I will be 27 by then!!) I hope to still be in regular contact with my parents and my sister, as well as my friends from university; I also hope to have a great new circle of friends whom I can do new activities with, like rock climbing, biking, bungee jumping, etc.

Where do I see myself in 10 years?

In 10 years, I will be a mum with my first child. I will most likely have stopped working to take care of him/her, but continue to do freelance journalism on the side. I hope to be living in a booming city where there is something different to do every day with my kid (who will be almost 3 by then). I hope to be near my parents, who can also inflict their wisdom on their grandchild. Maybe I just suck at being creative, but I really cannot think of what else I will be doing in 10 years. Gosh this is horrifying.. I guess for me, it isn’t about predicting where I will be- it is more about living in the moment and just going wherever life takes you. I don’t believe in planning ahead that much…

But I would definitely be very interested to hear your guys’ thoughts- where do you see yourself in 10 years?

 

3 thoughts on “30 Day Challenge: Day 8- Where do you see yourself in 1 year? 5 years? 10 years?

  1. I’m glad you have plenty of hopes and dreams about the next 10 years. I do too, but all my kids will be old enough to be on their own by then. Not ready to contemplate the empty nest just yet! Shocking to realize it is so close.

    1. Yeah but I hope these hopes and dreams are realistic! The kids will also miss the mother bird and you will see them more often than not! I know I’m closer to my parents since I’ve left. And it also gives you time to get back into doing things you love and have passion for! (Like my parents are^^)

What'd you think?

