A mother’s comfort

On Sunday, my day off, I went to the beach at Anse Georgette. This is on the other side of the island in Lemuria Hotel. This beach is just magnificent. The waters were literally a clear-emerald color, and it wasn’t long til I jumped in. Unfortunately my boyfriend is asthmatic so he could not come and swim with me. The water was the perfect temperature, and I even managed to see some fish! Here are some awesome pictures.

At the 18th hole- tip of the mountain
At the 18th hole- tip of the mountain
Almost there!
Almost there!
First look. Beautiful.
First look. Beautiful.

IMG_3185

A guy cutting coconuts from the coconut tree to serve to guests.
A guy cutting coconuts from the coconut tree to serve to guests.
Harro~
Harro~
Going in!
Going in!

IMG_3235

Just keep swimming
Just keep swimming
Got a coconut- these are quite sour. The ones in Singapore are much sweeter.
Got a coconut- these are quite sour. The ones in Singapore are much sweeter.
Got one of the small ones too- I've never had coconut like this before. Doesn't really taste like anything...
Got one of the small ones too- I’ve never had coconut like this before. Doesn’t really taste like anything…
We found this little guy on his flip flop
We found this little guy on his flip flop

It was a great 4-hours that we spent at the beach and we even had a little nap. When it was time to go.. That’s when the issue started. For the past week, I’ve been having these rashes on my arms, something I’ve never had before, and they began itching like crazy. I have these bumps behind my knees as well, and they started to itch too.

My left arm after the beach
My left arm after the beach

I could not stop scratching. It was horrible.

So when I got home, first thing I did was take a nice shower and apply some ointment. But when we got to evening, it got really bad.

My right arm at night :S
My right arm at night :S

It was horrible. I don’t know why, but just this feeling of sadness and loneliness came over me, and I wanted desperately to talk to my mum. I must have called her like 10 times on viber, and she finally picked up. Once I heard her voice, I walked out of the house and started to cry. I know I know, I’m 21 and I am acting like a child who has never been away from home. But just hearing her voice, her soothing assurances, made me wish with all my heart that I was in Shanghai with her.

My mum is amazing. She really understands me and she really tried her best to help me with my itches. At first, I told her that I was really uncomfortable with all this itching and that’s why I was crying. But afterwards, I realized it wasn’t because of the itching- it’s because of all the shit I’ve been through for the past 6 weeks of being here, and not hearing my mum’s voice was really taking its toll on me. It is really a wonder what a mother can do over the phone that nobody can. When I heard her voice, I felt completely alone in Seychelles- I missed my friends, I missed my family and I missed being myself.

So here’s to all the mum’s in the world who we could not do without.

<3

2 thoughts on “A mother’s comfort

What'd you think?

