A day in Praslin

Before I started work on Monday, I decided to explore the island of Praslin by bus on Saturday (August 10). I wanted to see what I was in for, for the next three months. I dreaded coming back, just like I dreaded going to Singapore in June. But going to Singapore turned out to be the best thing for me. So maybe, these three months will turn out to be good for me as well. Though so far it hasn’t been really.. but we will see!

First things first: figure out when the bus would come. I’ve heard the buses in Praslin have a schedule, but they are not always on schedule. So I got the schedule and it looks like this:

Bus Time Table
Praslin Bus Schedule

According to this, my stop is somewhere between L. Reserve and A. Blague, so if I wanted to take the a bus at noon, it should be there around 12:40pm. But just in case, I left at 11:40am. In hindsight, I don’t know what the hell I was thinking, because I waited for the bus for one hour. -.-

IMG_2477
View of staff accommodation on the way to bus stop.
This is the bus stop.
This is the bus stop.
I got so bored waiting for an hour. Thank God for my camera.
I got so bored waiting for an hour. Thank God for my camera.

While waiting for the bus, I got a bit restless. I must have taken a gazillion pictures of the surroundings, though they all looked the same. I did bump into some colleagues who invited me to a farewell beach party that evening, so it wasn’t all too bad. Otherwise, the bus finally came and I was on my way! Each bus ride costs SCR. 5.

Inside the bus
Inside the bus

It is not a bad ride at all, but the bus gets full quickly during noon. My first stop was Grand Anse, which was a 15-20 minute bus ride away. After all the twists and turns, I was finally there.

This was the bus stop I got off at
This was the bus stop I got off at
This is the ghetto soccer field, where they hold matches with the local team.
This is the ghetto soccer field, where they hold matches with the local team.
Some shops in here...
Some shops in here…

Okay honestly, it was quite boring. I walked around and everything was closed because it was after noon on a Saturday. So I went to the nearby “supermarket” (no fresh produce at all), and bought some frozen chicken, condiments etc. I saw quite a few tourists, and I was wondering what they are doing here on a Saturday. Come to think of it, I should have asked them… Anyway, I kept walking around, and saw this- quite interesting!

Seychelles Independence
Seychelles Independence

Then, I went to the nearby beach and snapped a few more shots.

IMG_2533

One of my favorites- this guy saw that I was taking pictures and just happened to stop in front of my camera.
One of my favorites- this boy saw that I was taking pictures and just happened to stop in front of my camera.

After that, I decided to take the bus back to Baie St. Anne, as it was about time.

This is the bus.
This is the bus.
IMG_2549
I guess they drive with the door open sometimes

I stopped at the jetty.

IMG_2556

 

 

And walked from there.

IMG_2564

 

At this time, it was about 2:30pm. I haven’t had lunch yet, so I saw ¬†OganiBar and walked in. There, I had a smoked marlin salad.

IMG_2575

It was good, but a bit too salty.
It was good, but a bit too salty.

Coincidentally, a Chinese couple came into this restaurant as well (I was the only customer there at first). After they ordered, I struck up a conversation with them and learned that they just arrived here. They took out a map and I showed them where their hotel is and the places they could go. After they ate, they suggested that I ride with them and they can send me back to my accommodation! Love this Chinese connection that the Chinese have on a foreign island.

OrganicBar from the car
OganiBar from the car
Yay
Yay

Yup. After this, I went back home. Got a ride to a farewell beach party and had dinner afterwards. It was an awesome Saturday and I had so much fun. It is always great to spend some time alone. Especially when you’re exploring a new place. You really can just jump on a bus and go wherever it takes you, and this freedom is great! It’s been two weeks since this day and I hope to be able to go out again. But with working 6 days a week and having Sundays off (where everything is closed), not sure when that will happen.

Anyway, all pictures are mine. Hope ya’ll enjoyed reading!

One thought on “A day in Praslin

  1. When I started to live in a new place/town/country, I’d like to slowly explore things too. It was good to see things while taking a bus or walking around. Hope you have a great time there.

What'd you think?

